Do you have a case? Find out for FREE

Call: 303.423.1770 or Toll-Free 866.385.3505

Northglenn Motorcycle Accident Attorneys

Colorado Motorcycle Laws

 

Colorado is a popular destination for motorcyclists of all ages because of its beautiful scenery and twisting mountain roads. In addition to local residents, thousands of tourists flock to the Mile High state each year to ride the Rockies. Yet, before you hit the open road, it is important to understand all of Colorado’s motorcycle laws. Abiding by Colorado’s motorcycle laws will help keep you safe and allow you to enjoy all that Colorado has to offer.

Overview of Colorado’s Motorcycle Laws:

  • Helmet Use
    • In Colorado, motorcyclists and passengers over the age of 18 are not required to wear helmets while riding.
    • Anyone under the age of 18 is required to wear DOT-approved helmets.
  • Eye Protection
    • All riders are required to wear eye protection in the form of goggles or glasses. Motorcycle windshields do not count as eye protection.
  • Bike Specifications
    • Daytime use of modulating headlamps is permitted in Colorado,
    • Turn signals are not required on motorcycles, however motorcycles must have at least one side mirror.
    • Bikes in Colorado must operate at a noise level of 90dba at 35 to 55 mph,
    • And all motorcycles are required by law to have mufflers.
  • Passengers
    • Passengers must have their own seat on a motorcycle. This can either be in a sidecar or behind the motorcyclist.
    • Motorcycles are also required to have footrests for passengers to use – and passengers are required to use them.

Sometimes, even when motorcyclists obey all the laws – accidents still happen. If you or someone you love was injured in a motorcycle accident, we can help. Our Northern Colorado motorcycle accident lawyers have the resources and experience needed to represent motorcycle accident victims. Call us today.

Overview of Colorado’s Off-Road Motorcycle Laws

Off-Road Riding

  • When off-road riding, no helmet or eye protection is required
  • Headlights and taillights are required only after sunset if you are riding off road.
  • Mufflers are still required and maximum sound level is set at 84 decibels 50 feet from the bike
  • No vehicle title is required for off-road motorcycles

Our personal injury lawyers have extensive experience representing injured accident victims in Broomfield, Arvada, Superior, Lafayette, Louisville, Erie, Brighton, Commerce City, Northglenn, Westminster, Thornton, Longmont, and throughout Colorado.

 

 

Results
Matter

At Hull & Zimmerman, P.C., we are honored to help accident victims in their time of need, and take our responsibility as personal injury lawyers incredibly seriously. We know how important it is for victims to secure the full and fair compensation they need following a serious accident, and that is why we take a hands-on, personalized approach to every case we handle.

What Our
Clients Say

From
Our Law Blog